“I’ve absolutely felt like that and it’s a relief to know I’m not the only one”

I thought I’d take a minute, or two, to talk about this blog; why I write it, who I’m writing to, what I want to tell you all and what I want you to gain from reading my words. I am not here to lament to you my troubles. I’m not here to whine about my worries.

While this blog is entitled mylifeandwhatiwore, it really isn’t about me. Maybe I recall an experience I’ve had or an encounter I’ve made, but when it comes down to it, my words are for you. I’m here to resonate with someone. Maybe just one person, maybe more. Maybe a person who lives a life similar to mine, maybe a person on the other side of the world living a life of such stark contrast to mine that I’d never even considered it. I’m here hoping that there is one person somewhere out there who will read my words and think, “I’ve absolutely felt like that and it’s a relief to know I’m not the only one”.

I’m here to say the things that others might be thinking but are too afraid to voice. Not the mean, bitchy, “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all” comments. I’m here to write down the “I wish I could voice the way I’m feeling”, “I wish I knew there was someone out there feeling the same way as I am” words. For those too nervous or fearing of judgment. For those who feel like they’ll sound silly if they say what they really think. For those fearless enough to say what they really feel and think and believe and are left thinking they’re the only ones of their kind.

I’m not going to be a voice of truth for everyone. I guess that is what is so amazing about blogging in general. The true vastness of a public sphere not dictated by geography or race. The freedom of a flow of information that can transport us past the physical barriers and borders that restrict our physicality; blogging helps us create a global conversation.

Now I need to ask something from you. If you have read anything from my blog and felt like my words resonated in even the smallest way with you, like it. Let me know that I’m not alone in the way I feel. Let me know that I make sense. Let me know if taking a risk and being so open and honest has left you with a smile or something to think about.

Here are some words that resonated with me, or sounded eerily familiar and creepily accurate. Maybe they will with you too xx

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

One thought on ““I’ve absolutely felt like that and it’s a relief to know I’m not the only one”

  1. I love the way you have described the premise for your blog and the way you hope people will receive the messages you discuss. I have read every piece of yours so far and have definitely related to most if not all of the issues you have discussed. This is because of the level of honesty that you implement in your writing it allows people who don’t even know you to relate to your feelings and thoughts. As you said, blogging sees the removal of barriers between people creating a more global conversation allowing people to connect regardless of location. Keep up the great work! You are definitely making an impression on me! xxx

Leave a Reply

